The Perils of Pot
Many states across the country are reforming their laws on marijuana. As the most widely used controlled substance, marijuana has host of potential medical uses. The research can be debated, but the fact remains that a Houston marijuana possession charge is a serious offense.
The amount does not matter, as Texas takes a zero tolerance approach to marijuana possession. If you or a family member has been charged in a marijuana case, the law office of Lisa Shapiro Strauss can help. Contact our firm for a consultation with an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Zero tolerance is as harsh as it sounds. Texas law considers marijuana a Schedule 1 controlled substance. In this classification, drugs are not recognized for any medical benefit and are deemed to have a high risk of abuse. What other drugs found in Houston are listed in the Schedule 1 class?
- LSD and PCP
The Schedule 1 drug class has some heavy hitters, and marijuana is viewed in the same light. Texas law does not care if you obtained the drug legally in another state or plan to use the drug for medicinal purposes. Possession carries heavy consequences. Our law office has represented many clients who made a mistake with marijuana. If you need legal representation, contact Lisa Shapiro Strauss at (713) 449-9922.
Charges for Possession of Marijuana
Texas drug law looks at two factors to determine the charge in a possession of marijuana case. The amount of cannabis and the surround circumstances will guide the level of offense. The most common charge in Texas is the Class B misdemeanor – for possession less than 2 ounces. The charges can be increased:
- 2 to 4 ounces is a Class A misdemeanor. Punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a $4000 fine.
- 4 ounces to a pound is a felony charge, up to 2 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
The fine and jail times increase with the weight of marijuana. Prior convictions and intent to distribute will also increase the level of offense. Remember, Texas is a zero tolerance state. Possession of paraphernalia is also illegal. Texas takes the perils of pot very seriously.
Get Help with a Houston Marijuana Possession Charge
Lisa Shapiro Strauss will look at all of your options. You could possibly lose your drivers license and financial aid at school. Your record can be stained with a permanent charge. A pot conviction in Texas can be a high hurdle, but we have negotiated:
- Deferred adjudication probation
- Straight probation
- Pretrial diversion programs
- Lesser sentences
To see if you might qualify for any of the probation or diversion programs, contact our law office today. An experienced defense attorney will examine the details of your possession of marijuana case and draft a plan for your defense. Texas marijuana law is harsh, but we can help you achieve the best outcome possible for a Houston marijuana possession charge.