Exploring Your Drunk Driving Defense Options
Make no mistake about it — you need an attorney to represent you on your first setting in court when you have been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). In fact, you may lose the ability to save your driver's license if you do not request an ALR Hearing within 15 days of your DWI arrest.
The longer you wait to hire an attorney, the more rights and driving privileges you could lose. You will automatically lose your license if we don't request a hearing within 15 days. Contact Houston DWI/DUI defense attorney Lisa Shapiro Strauss for a free initial consultation. We are here to help you keep your driver's license.
DWI Defense in Houston: Our Approach
Keeping a DWI conviction off your record is always our primary focus. Houston DWI/DUI defense attorney Lisa Shapiro Strauss has an excellent record of fighting aggressively to help get you the best possible outcome for your DWI charge. You may be eligible for the DIVERT program if you qualify, so contact us to find out how.
Our legal team understands that your DWI charge may be the first time you have needed a lawyer, or have had legal trouble. In Texas, a DWI charge can be given for more than just being under the influence of alcohol. It includes driving while under the influence of prescriptions and legal/illegal substances. We take great strides to make sure every client understands the legal system. We will discuss your situation, as well as the different legal options that may be available.
Enhanced and Felony DWI Charges
In Texas, you can be charged with DWI if your blood alcohol content level is .08 or greater. These charges can be enhanced, which means your sentencing guidelines can be affected by prior criminal offenses, including prior DWI/DUI charges. Additionally, under state law, you may face a felony charge if:
- You have two or more prior DWI convictions
- You were in an accident which caused serious bodily harm to another person
- You had a child in your car
Alternatives to Jail
As a former prosecutor, Houston drunk driving defense attorney Lisa Shapiro Strauss has helped clients pursue diversion programs. If this is your first DWI charge, you may be eligible for the DIVERT program, which could result in your case being dismissed. Other options include:
- Interlock devices
- Alcohol and drug treatment
- Community service
- Victim impact panels
- Treatment alternatives to incarceration programs (TAIP)
We will evaluate the facts of your case, including the police report and arrest video. We have firm knowledge of correct police procedures, and can determine if there was probable cause for the stop. Additionally, we understand how to uncover improper procedures for the field sobriety tests.
Arrested for driving on a suspended license/restricted license? This can be a vicious cycle of surcharges and fines. Contact us to learn how we can help.
Free Initial Consultation · Contact a Harris County Drunk Driving Arrest Attorney
If you or a loved one needs guidance from an experienced, dedicated, criminal defense lawyer, we urge you to contact us today. Call 713-581-1776 or toll free at 877-896-8984 to arrange a free consultation in our Houston law office.